top of page
Artboard 1.png


CERTivation GmbH,an independent certification body, has given authority to the Qualification Panel for the Pipeline Industry (QPPI) to develop all elements for the following certifications and qualifications. 

CERTivation is also in the process of having its procedures and processes for eight competencies accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). This mean that the eight competencies will be certified by CERTivation and accredited by ANSI.


A ‘qualification’ is a demonstrated skill and knowledge (along with documented education, training and experience), required for personnel to properly perform the duties of a specific task.


Designed for individuals who specialize in a pipeline integrity area. You can select one (or more) of eight listed competencies (with written competency standards and assessments available):

  1. Pipeline Engineering Principles

  2. Pipeline Inspection and Surveillance

  3. Pipeline Integrity Management

  4. Pipeline Defect Assessment

  5. In-Line Inspection Technologies & Procedures

  6. ILI Data Analysis & Reporting

  7. Stress Analysis 

  8. Fracture Mechanics

These competencies, and the associated assessments, can be certified by                  This certification is to the international standard, ISO 17024.


Individuals with a specific area of expertise looking to be qualified, or would like to be certified in a competency not currently offered by CERTivation, can still be certified in that competency. 

For companies, concerned about the competency level of their staff, we can send in subject matter experts to perform a general assessment of staff within an organization. The assessment is a general interview with the technical management, and then individual interviews or assessments with staff. A report is then sent to the company leadership, summarizing the level of competence in the staff and recommendations where necessary.

For more information on certification outside the ANSI scope offered by CERTivation, please


This is designed for professional engineers; i.e., an individual who has an engineering degree from a recognized or accredited university, or who has a professional engineering qualification (for example, PEng or CEng).

You select all the above eight competencies, and need to pass each one. This then allows you to apply to be certified by CERTivation as a Pipeline Integrity Engineer. Note that this qualification also requires the taking, and passing of a ninth assessment, made up of the listed eight competencies. You will then be a Certified Pipeline Integrity Engineer by CERTivation.


 For more information

bottom of page